Sabah Sarawak Malaysia Agreement

The 20-point agreement or the 20-point memorandum is a list of 20 points drawn up by North-Borneo, which proposes the terms of its accession to the new federation as the state of Sabah during the negotiations leading up to the creation of Malaysia. In the Malaysian law of the Malaysian agreement, some of the twenty points were included to varying degrees in the Constitution by Malaysia; others were accepted only orally and therefore did not obtain legal status. The 20-point agreement often serves as a point of contact among those who claim that Sabah`s rights have been eroded over time within the Federation. [1] The Malayan Union was founded by the British Malaya and consisted of the Malaysian federal states of Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang; the unfederated Malay states of Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan, Terengganu, Johor; and the streets of Penang and Malacca. It was created in 1946 by a series of agreements between the United Kingdom and the Malayan Union. [7] The Malay Union was replaced by the Federation of Malaya on 1 February 1948 and gained independence from the Commonwealth of Nations on 31 August 1957. [5] The first meeting on the issues took place on December 17, 2018, during which 21 issues were considered by the cabinet`s special committee. 13 problems were identified as common problems affecting both the Sarawak government and the La Sabah government, and 8 as problems that concerned only the Sabah government. [16] Despite the federal government`s willingness to review the agreement, reports have been issued that negotiations between Sabah and the federal government have not proceeded smoothly, with the federal government dictating certain audit conditions, leading to the perception of the revision as a unilateral matter in which the federal government tries to maintain control over several issues.

[17] Following the adoption of the proposal to amend the Malaysian constitution on equality between Sabah and Sarawak in 2019, The Malaysian federal government agreed to review the treaty violation agreement with the « Malaysia Agreement Audit Select Committee » and authorized a ma63 panel team to prepare a final report on the 1963 agreement by August 31, 2019. , which will be presented at the next meeting of the special committee. As of 23 July 2019, seven issues relating to the 1963 agreement had reached a common agreement, while 14 other issues still needed to be addressed and are expected to be resolved before the 31 August deadline. [15] [16] The seven points agreed were: The 20 points were written with the aim of protecting the interests, rights and autonomy of the inhabitants of northern Borneo after the formation of the Malaysian Federation.

Non classé